poMotion poetry

Down on Davis Street

with 2 comments

Around 10:30am down on Davis Street
Where many a poor man rests his missing soul
It was a bittersweet day, survival mode gone wrong
A battle torn man losing the flow
Coming at me live
On a heroin rush, vodka high
Beer drunk, my oh my
Cursing me out in broad day light

Junkie man, please set down
Tell me what your story is?

And like a riot blown in from a wicked past
He told his tale, he hissed, he lashed, out
He told me he’d been to hell and knew what it was all about
Poetry like a flower, or did I say broken glass?
Nothing stops the rats and crows from feeding

‘Are you for real?
Do you want to see something real?’
Showing me the knife scares across his chest
The night she took him out
The night he took her down
20 years in prison…
but oh my friends there’s so much more

He asks me again, “Are you for real, Israel?”
He staggers along
A dream gone wrong
A vision caste out
A reason, I suppose to feel belonged in wetness…

Posted by Israel Bayer

Written by lickmypoetry

March 26, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Posted in poem

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. did we possibly speak to the same person-bittersweet solace that-you know when i read this i didnt even notice the tears running out my eyes till i went to the bathroom and saw them by accident-hummmmmm i never cry so that says something about your skill —wordsmith…

    julie mccurdy

    May 29, 2010 at 7:01 pm

  2. “poor man rests his missing soul” – says so much with so little; I recognised the man in an instant, whether on Davis Street or Alhambra and J Street – he looks and sounds the same. You write with the compassion of a man who isn’t afraid to look and even more, to listen. When the invisible ones have a poet on their side, they are no longer invisible – they’re human.

    I love the line, “Poetry like a flower, or did I say broken glass” Again, in a single line, you caught the huge dichotomies that exist on the street and that shake us and wake us up.

    There is music and rythym in your work too. Beautiful stuff; keep writing.

    Cindy

    June 18, 2010 at 11:09 am


Leave a Reply

