poMotion poetry

CONTEMPORARY VAGABOND

with 2 comments

by Artis the Spoonman

Ah the sterile scent of dry dust
Under the overpass
The sporadic thump, thump
of the traffic overhead
Sorta lulls me to sleep
In my urban outdoor bed

I feel safe, but vulnerable
I feel alert, but relaxed
I don’t owe anybody
and no one owes me
Don’t want to hurt anybody
Hope no one hurts me
In this world of enchantment
I just want to live free
When it rains I get wet
When it’s hot I just sweat

Like an alarm clock
The thumps are getting closer above
Maybe today all the hate
Will turn to love
Livin outdoors ain’t nearly as hard
As the grief I get for being a bard
All my lovers are sublime
and my children love me true
They are few, and seldom seen
But what’s a vagabond to do?

I feel safe, but vulnerable
I feel alert, but relaxed
I don’t owe anybody
and no one owes me
Don’t want to hurt anybody
Hope no one hurts me
In this world of enchantment
I just want to live free
When it rains I get wet
When it’s hot I just sweat

I’m not guilty of the trespass
I’m so often accused
More the victim
than the instigator of abuse
The drugs, violence & deception
Are just as plentiful
in the banks and mansions
As on the streets
and under these transoms

I feel safe, but vulnerable
I feel alert, but relaxed
I don’t owe anybody
and no one owes me
Don’t want to hurt anybody
Hope no one hurts me
In this world of enchantment
I just want to live free
When it rains I get wet
When it’s hot I just sweat

Posted by Israel Bayer

Written by lickmypoetry

March 28, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Posted in poem

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. An interesting story within these lines and view of those who live such a life style…thanks for sharing it.

    slpmartin

    March 28, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  2. My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

    PiterJankovich

    March 31, 2010 at 7:54 am


Leave a Reply

