poMotion poetry

Poetry news you can use

with 2 comments

Poetry reviews: What’s the point? Do reviews sell poetry books? Writer Craig Teicher with Publishers Weekly talks a lot about himself, and then offers readers an insight. (Skip to the what’s the point part.) I’m still not convinced that anything he wrote is accurate.

I also came across blogger Travis Nichols who writes a regular column on poetry over at the Huffington Post. One column that jumped out at me was, “Should poetry critics go negative?” (I already have.) And while I agree with most of his analysis, he is also an editor works for the Poetry Foundation. It made me wonder what he really thinks? Never the less, it’s great to see the Huffington has a dedicated place for several poetry columnists.

Meanwhile in Portland, Oregon the local transit authority is asking for “Dirty Word haikus,” and two women in Toronto are introducing Poetry Vendor Machines. The New York Times has put together a clever way to connect current affairs and poetry for students and Michael Lista publishes an epic poem called Bloom that looks very cool.

But still, in my humble opinion, none of it compares to this…

Posted by Israel Bayer

Written by lickmypoetry

April 5, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Posted in news

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In my humble opinion, some of my favorite poems are song lyrics. Oh-and what’s the difference between a review and a criticism? Aw…go ahead and jump. Jump.

    Astrid

    April 5, 2010 at 11:57 pm

  2. Yes, Bob Dylan is w/out a doubt is the best poet in the past 100 years. I can’t name one better than him before that. I look at a review as something that is a guide for a particular piece of work that may or may not be viewed or purchased, while a criticism, or a critique is meant to spur more of a discussion about a piece, but that’s just me. It’s a fine line that could be split in any direction on any given day. I’m jumping like a frog on a log.

    – Israel Bayer

    lickmypoetry

    April 6, 2010 at 12:15 am


Leave a Reply

