poMotion poetry

DOLLAR BILL

leave a comment »

I dropped a dollar bill on the sidewalk
Hoping someone poor might find it
“Good Luck”
As I kicked it goodbye

Looking around me
Under the starlit sky
I noticed two people
A block or so away
Who look to be
In quite sufficient pay

“I hope they don’t see it”
“I hope they don’t see it”

As I strolled on along
I looked back to see
The woman bending over
where the dollar would be
“Isn’t it fun to find money?”
I said
When they soon passed me by
She said; “Oh! You saw it too?”
I said; “I dropped it”
She said: “So did I”
She said; “So did I
We don’t need it
So we just passed it by”
So she just passed it by
Maybe you found it
and had breakfast the next day
I just mean to convey
All money is not pay

– Venice Beach 1977

by Artis the Spoonman

Written by lickmypoetry

April 6, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Posted in poem

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

