poMotion poetry

Write On! Fry Bread Dough

with 2 comments

Last summer, I was the instructor for Hoh River Summer School.  We did field work, monitoring the health of our streams and planted a school garden plot in the community garden.

We also explored the writing process through the lens of freestyle rhyming.

It was amazing to watch the students as they crossed mediums:  writing to music.  They didn’t even notice how hard they were working on their drafts and re-writes. We published their work by distributing compact discs of our freestyles and beats.

It has been a long time coming, but now two of those students’ work, Vivica Goodlance and AnaCleto Ward, are featured in PoMotion’s Write On! page.

Fry Bread Dough

By Vivica Goodlance and AnaCleto Ward

I would like to begin with a poem in old fashioned meter
Be  good to us and we’ll be good to you
Be good to us and we’ll be good to you
Be good to us and we’ll be good to you

Ain’t got the shivers
Ain’t no drug dealer
I care about my liver
I am
A clam digger
But when I deliver
I gots a sliver
When I’m in the snow, I had to shiver
Snow—on the Hoh
Oh no Hoh Hoh Hoh
My teacher ain’t got the flow
I gots to go
To make my fry bread dough
You don’t know
Someday I’ll grow
In the snow
On the Hoh

I’m on a mission
To do my addition
It’s like an admission
I need to condition
My teacher’s a musician
She put her boyfriend
Into submission

I got the shivers
I say. ‘Oh no!’
My teacher ain’t gotnoflow
I gots to go to make my
Fry bread dough
And some day
I’ll grow
at the Hoh.
Be good to us and we’ll be good to you
Be good to us and we’ll be good to you
Be good to us and we’ll be good to you
Be good to us and we’ll be good to you

Posted by Sue Zalokar

Written by lickmypoetry

May 4, 2010 at 1:32 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very enjoyable and love the story behind the poem….teaching does have its rewards.

    slpmartin

    May 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm


Leave a Reply

