poMotion poetry

The legacy

with 9 comments

I am
the lips that loved you
in the middle of the night

I am
the hips that slammed you into paradise,
ecstasy spent

I am
the eye you blackened
for daring
not to cast myself downward
in your drunken jealous rage

I am
the arm you broke
because I flew to cover
the face
you were bent on destroying
so its beauty
couldn’t sear your sight

I am
the heart
you crushed against the thighs of another

I am
the ghost of the smile
you couldn’t break
and the hint of
a thousand surrenders
you couldn’t
force into being

I am
the forgiveness you didn’t seek
and the laugh lines that
shouldn’t be

I am
the velvet steel strength
you couldn’t
begin
to comprehend

I am
the survivor who happened
accidentally
because
I am
my mothers legacy
and the pride
of my fathers eye
the gifts they gave me
wouldn’t let me
lay down and die
because
you
were threatened by
who I am

I have a daughter
who will someday be
my own legacy
and a son
who will someday
know the difference
between
strength
and
brutality

By Julie McCurdy

Written by lickmypoetry

May 29, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Quite a powerful poem about a topic all to often ignored by authorities….truly appreciate this voice and message.

    slpmartin

    May 29, 2010 at 10:19 pm

  2. *blush* thank you that was kind of you to say so

    julie mccurdy

    May 29, 2010 at 11:02 pm

  3. […] Posts The Early Afternoon on That First DayI'm a killer too… The legacyBacking DownI Knew A WomanBrian Feist Down on Davis StreetTidal Force*Sue ZalokarJulie […]

  4. Wow, Legacy is wonderful, tragic, heartfelt and true – if you have ever been in that situation – you know – the wonder the pain – when the one that is suppose to love – hurts you. Well done Julie my friend. Debbie

    Debbie Meeks

    May 30, 2010 at 7:04 am

  5. thank you i am so glad you like it

    julie mccurdy

    May 30, 2010 at 10:26 am

  6. The idea of crushing someone’s heart against the thighs of another…one of many powerful metaphors in this piece. Hope coupled with despair has created an accidental survivor. I agree, the tone is devastatingly lovely. Thanks for this one. Sue

    Sue

    May 31, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  7. omg…powerful and eloquence delivered at the end of a fist. you don’t know what it means unless you’ve been there, am i right? but respect to those who care to emphathize and voice for those who can’t/won’t/don’t!

    hmm…this site is interesting…got anymore poetry poested around herez??

    elaine

    June 9, 2010 at 8:05 pm

  8. Gripping in intensity using contrast to identify the opposites and bringing forth the way to understand by doing so. Masterfully done. Brutality made real with eloquence.

    1markt

    June 12, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    • thank you for your kind words….i appreciate them more then you know

      julie mccurdy

      June 20, 2010 at 10:19 am


Leave a Reply

