poMotion poetry

The truth on where I found voice

with 10 comments

In the end
it isn’t
the places
we’ve been
or the places
we’re going
that create
laugh lines
around our eyes
or frowned  furrows

it’s our own perception
of those places
and
the integrity
of our intent
that allow
bitterness and deep belly laughter
to battle it out
for
space in our soul

they battle it out
for the right
to etch
lines
in the maps
of our faces,
to create
trails
for memories to follow

who knows
from one moment
to the next
which one
gets to play
center stage

these are the things I know
there was a time when
life gave me
the opportunity to face
my fear,
when
sleeping under the bridge
held all the fears I knew how to create
i was afraid of everything

this was the time
when
the universe was kind enough
to let me see through the eyes of poverty

the differences between generosity of spirit
and love luxury spent

it let me experience
freedom of possession
and freedom from greed
for the first time in my life

i remain
grateful to the universe
for the lesson

honestly
there was  a time
when
the sound of the traffic’s roar
above my head
went from being
invasive and disturbingly close
to the oceans own lullaby of serenity

the situation was the same,
so was the bridge

I still slept there with only the earth and concrete to shelter me

but when fear ceased its stranglehold on my heart
and trust  in the universal flow
slipped in silently

I was able to see
this space
as a blessing
and when it became
what it was,
a blessing
I could accept it
and move on

today
i am far more
fearful
of possessions
and possibilities
of policies
that commit cultural genocide
and the society whose apathy applauds
each loss of freedom

the same society that
prefers instant gratification
to energy spent
on the worthwhile
of fundamentalists
with their shotgun answers
and their perfect sin
its enslavement to ideologies
(when dogma gets a name
that scares the shit out of me)

the perception
that the misbegotten should be revered

these things
cause the soul sickness
that leaves us to lay
and watch
as it
rots

it’s  fear that freezes us
and faith that frees us
whatever faith that is,
is irrelevant,
it’s the faith itself

by Julie McCurdy

Written by lickmypoetry

June 6, 2010 at 11:44 am

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “with their shotgun answers
    and their perfect sin
    its enslavement to ideologies”

    Beautiful.

    – Israel Bayer

    lickmypoetry

    June 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  2. A very powerful poem and life story within these lines…just an excellent poem.

    slpmartin

    June 6, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    • thank you-your words mean a great deal to me- impish grin-and yes …… my life has been….a grand good show so far

      julie

      June 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm

  3. ‘honestly
    there was a time
    when
    the sound of the traffic’s roar
    above my head
    went from being
    invasive and disturbingly close
    to the oceans own lullaby of serenity’

    It is an excellent poem. This idea of the similarity between two things, so different. I love it.

    Sue Zalokar

    June 6, 2010 at 6:26 pm

  4. thank u you have no idea how much your words mean-its so naked being out there in poetry land thanks for making that scintilating rather then shocking

    julie

    June 19, 2010 at 6:33 pm

  5. Auntie wow man I didn’t even know you’re a poet…I meen just they way you express yourself is unique I should say..my eyes enjoyed it all.
    You know I always wondered wat other skills you had besides cooking,teaching,and motherhood…now I know

    Andre mccurdy

    June 22, 2010 at 12:03 am

    • I ment the way you express sorry I know this public^_^

      Andre mccurdy

      June 22, 2010 at 12:08 am

      • your a dream boat hon no worries

        julie mccurdy

        July 12, 2010 at 11:05 pm

  6. tender smile thanks so much i appreciate that i love you sunshine

    julie mccurdy

    June 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  7. uhm hon i was never a teacher proffessionally wince do you have the right auntie?

    julie mccurdy

    June 22, 2010 at 9:04 pm


Leave a Reply

