poMotion poetry

Orion

with 6 comments

As I stood waiting
To leave your doorstep
For the last time.

Having arrived two days earlier,
I searched your house for
Something familiar.
Something that would remind me of you.

They had pulled it all out
Given it to the Volunteers,
Or the trash service had hauled it away
Dumping your belongings on a pile of
Other people’s unwanted belongings.

I found your office,  your life
On the side of the house
Carelessly, hurriedly thrown
Into garbage cans
Overflowing…

They had pulled out the things they thought
“I’d like to have”
But each trinket was from long before
I even knew you.  These things had
Long since lost your smell,
Your hand had not passed over
These pieces in years.

I found your hand mirror,
The one you’d used in dressing
“Why would you want that?”
“I haven’t got one”, I lied.
I selected
A fine Stetson hat—
I’d never seen you in it,
But it reminded me of you.

Standing under the stars,
I looked up to find the one thing
More familiar than any other…

The sky lit brightly
The hunter himself drawing his bow.
His arrow poised to guide me back home.

By Sue Zalokar

Written by lickmypoetry

June 11, 2010 at 7:28 am

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read this one outloud several times…the timbre of the words you selected resonated as I read it…this is a touching and very beautiful poem.

    slpmartin

    June 11, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    • Thanks so much. I left my voice out this time on purpose. I wrote this after my Granddad’s passing..touching and beautiful was were my inspiration was coming from. Glad you ‘heard’ it.

      Sue

      June 11, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  2. This poem is fantastic. I think one of my favs. – Israel

    lickmypoetry

    June 12, 2010 at 10:51 am

    • Thanks Israel. I like it too.

      Sue

      June 12, 2010 at 3:33 pm

  3. i loved this one -the spartan bittersweet ache is fierce–the picture you paint here becomes its own haunting lullabye i am sorry for your loss

    julie

    June 15, 2010 at 9:46 am


Leave a Reply

