poMotion poetry

Dedication

with 5 comments

Through whatever regard and
disregard these poems travel,
I urge them to find those few
for whom they are the only food
in this world the day they meet up.
Time after time, year after year,
book after book has come up to me
and been the only food in this world
that day, the food for which
I was starved to weakness.
So I have a big debt to pay,
and this is the way to pay it,
to pass along the relief
and the sustenance.
Beneath all the masks in the world,
we need each other like water,
especially when we’re starting out.
And we’re always starting out

By Lance M. Loder

Written by lickmypoetry

July 5, 2010 at 1:11 am

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How true you words are about “relief and the sustenance”…as I was growing up the writings Henri René Albert Guy de Maupassant did that for me…it is always good to recall those who provide for you…well said in your poem.

    slpmartin

    July 5, 2010 at 7:48 am

  2. I agree. I need words to sustain me. And water. The way he ends the poem too:

    Beneath all the masks in the world,
    we need each other like water,
    especially when we’re starting out.
    And we’re always starting out

    It makes me feel like getting started.

    Sue

    lickmypoetry

    July 5, 2010 at 9:17 am

  3. Wow – this is beautiful.

    I hope I always remember the last stanza, especially when inclined to judge or criticize. And the sentiment regarding the truth-unmasked writings that become food and water for our day’s existence, let alone our developing souls, is one more reason why I choose carefully the things that sustain me. Their words, thoughts and characters are the ones living in my brain.

    The moth’s wings made a wonderful mask!! Nice stuff, Lance.

    brokenpenwriter

    July 5, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    • He is incredibly talented. I ‘found him’ posthumously at an Arts fair near where I live. His worked has never been published. You can read more about him on his bio page.

      The moth picture is mine….one of our holiday visitors: a moth as big as my palm!

      Thanks for reading.

      Sue Zalokar

      July 5, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      • crikey, that’s some monster moth!!
        What a pity Lance is gone – I’ll read up on him as you suggested. Thanks.

        brokenpenwriter

        July 7, 2010 at 8:17 pm


Leave a Reply

