poMotion poetry

Muse’s Misconceptions

with 5 comments

I didnt know

when I started

this thing…..

that success

in any form

would ask

for sacrifice….

deep down

belly laughter…

aint that a bitch….

since we all

grew up

knowin

nothin

comes for free

I thought

I already paid

wry grin

shrug

who knew?

That the same

thing

that

seduced

my soul

into being

would let

fear

force a choice

I didnt know

then

what

it would cost

to paint

my pictures

I only painted them

so their

images

wouldn’t

sear my sight

I painted them

into the wind

in the way

women

are

want

to do

so their seeds

would sow

surrender and acceptance

to the healing process

i am

after all

a woman

we heal that way

in the whole

by helping

the next

one

in line

I didnt

know

then

but I

do know

now

right here

in the now

of things

and you know what

its ok…

and its

gonna be

grand

when

I get over

the need

to hold on

to

the what

were’s

instead of

embracing

the what are’s

and there is

solace

laced

with liberation

in the

knowin now

what

I didn’t know

then

I don’t have to

be less than I am

for a man to love me

I am glorious and I am grand

just the way I am

just me

and so

are you

that m-dears

is a kick assed kewl place to be

By Julie McCurdy

Written by lickmypoetry

July 24, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with , , , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like the final sentiment in the poem…self-assured….very fine poem.

    slpmartin

    July 24, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  2. What a powerful poem. I’m a woman too who realized I need to be just me. What a great reveal of what’s inside.

    jeannine

    July 25, 2010 at 7:10 am

  3. thanks ……i so appreciate that ……feels good

    julie

    July 25, 2010 at 10:00 am

  4. ‘I didnt know/then/what/it would cost/to paint/my pictures

    I only painted them/so their/images/wouldn’t/sear my sight

    I painted them/into the wind/in the way/women/are/want/to do/so their seeds/would sow’

    This is spine chilling. I think this is the crux of the meaning of the whole poem for me. This, and the title. Darn Muses….inspiring and suffocating.

    I am so glad to have your insight and perspective here at Pomotion. Thanks,

    Sue Zalokar

    July 25, 2010 at 10:50 am

  5. wry grin thank you sue- i always love your feedback-and lets face it it always feels good to know someone else understands and gets the pictures—-xo

    julie

    August 8, 2010 at 7:54 pm


Leave a Reply

