poMotion poetry

The Edge

with 6 comments

The mercy of the Muse
is a perfectly intimate
and timely mercilessness.

No one and nothing
has met me like she has.

No one and nothing else
has wanted me so unfurled,
so staunch, so finished,
so honestly endangered
and dangerous,
so lived.

She has worked to halt me
only when I was petty.

I have shown up for
the writing by my hand
of thousands and thousands
of poems.

None done casually.

And they in turn
have written me.

I am their artwork,
as they are mine.

They are the ear I listen with
to find the way I am to go now.

As you too may have noticed,
this world is made of solid music.

As you too may have noticed,
each dancer moves the music
even as music moves the dancer.

Here in this pattern’s fact
the act of art and
the art of action
know the same kiss of the world,
the same cut,
the same mercy that is
the most intimate and timely
mercilessness.

Welcome, then, to this edge,
where we have always been,
where we will always be,
there being nowhere else
nor nothing else to be,
to do,
to love,
to flee.

megwhitescultures.com

Poem by Lance M. Loder

Written by lickmypoetry

October 1, 2010 at 7:39 am

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with , , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. how you are true to your muse
    as she in turn is true to you… wonderfully expressed!

    dld self narration

    October 1, 2010 at 7:58 am

  2. I liked this one too. Lance was a great poet, we are so lucky to have access to his work. Thanks for reading, Sue

    lickmypoetry

    October 1, 2010 at 9:37 am

  3. awesome poem, thank you for reminding me, Music is every where. great feel for the art and your style is fun and mesmerizing

    jeannine

    October 1, 2010 at 11:15 am

  4. I also liked this poem of yours…thanks for sharing.

    slpmartin

    October 1, 2010 at 8:37 pm

  5. this would be the reason most of us do this- bravo to yourself and your own dear muse

    Right 2 Survive

    October 3, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  6. wow. what a huge statement.
    powerful poem…
    “She has worked to halt me
    only when I was petty.”

    &
    “Welcome, then, to this edge,
    where we have always been”

    wow!!
    and that picture with it is CRAZY

    Evelyn

    January 14, 2011 at 10:40 am


Leave a Reply

