poMotion poetry

Pain seems to be truth

with 16 comments

picture me in my fucking flunky uniform

flipflopflipflop

frying

fries, burgers, buns, ketchup, mustard, fuck

the ketchup. A red puddle on the floor.

“My boss is going to be pissed!” I exclaim

half to convince myself to clean it,

half to see if my boss is paying attention.

Moving faster than if cracked with a whip the floor is

wiped, swept, mopped, polished

flipflopflipflop

frying

fries, burgers, buns, mustard, the fucking unpredictable ketchup.

I’m addicted to frying

Addicted to monotony.

But what is an addict if not a seeker of truth,

but the only route to truth is through pain.

Minute pain is minute truth.

Was I talking to myself againflip

flopflipflopflipflopflipflop

frying

fries

Written by lickmypoetry

April 18, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Posted in poem, poetry

Tagged with

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “But what is an addict if not a seeker of truth,

    but the only route to truth is through pain.”
    if only this were true…
    new words! woohoo!

    Evelyn

    April 19, 2011 at 4:46 am

    • Thanks! Who says its not true?

      lickmypoetry

      April 20, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      • well its the “but” that I find out.
        shouldnt it be “and” if we are talking about addicts, because why is a addict an addict if not for pain?

        Evelyn

        April 22, 2011 at 12:33 pm

      • not “out”…ODD
        oy, maybe this page is a magnet for misspells and miscommunications.

        Evelyn

        April 22, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    • You’re right, it probably should be ‘and’ I will revise that if I post this anywhere else.

      And other than the comment section, I am standing by the fact that nothing is misspelled in this poem. If I am wrong please correct me.

      lickmypoetry

      April 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    • Of course the ‘flipflopfliflop’ part is not completely correct, but that is poetic license.

      lickmypoetry

      April 22, 2011 at 3:57 pm

  2. Oh..I do like this one…love the onomatopoeia incorporated in the poem…perfect.

    slpmartin

    April 19, 2011 at 9:18 am

    • Rockin! Thanks! I love the word onomatopoeia! The next poem will use that word somehow

      lickmypoetry

      April 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm

  3. This was a fun poem to read. The incorrectly spilled “half to convince..” and “half to see if my..”” I found somewhat distracting.

    Robert John Lincoln

    April 19, 2011 at 8:13 pm

  4. Awesome poem! I can completely relate.

    cassie

    April 19, 2011 at 10:51 pm

  5. I liked the simplcity of this poem.

    jeannine

    May 15, 2011 at 10:28 pm


Leave a Reply

